Aitken spence Hotels

Board Of Directors

Share : Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on G+ Email This

Deshamanya D.H.S. JayawardenaDeshamanya D.H.S. Jayawardena
Deshamanya Harry Jayawardena is one of Sri Lanka’s most successful businessmen and heads many successful enterprises in very diverse fields of activity. He is the Founder Director and current Chairman/ Managing Director of the Stassen Group of Companies – a diversified group in the import and export trade, and the Chairman of Lanka Milk Foods (CWE) PLC. He is also the Chairman of the Distilleries Company of Sri Lanka PLC, Browns Beach Hotels PLC, Balangoda Plantations PLC, and Madulsima Plantations PLC. In addition to being the Chairman of Lanka Bell Ltd., Melstacorp Limited, Milford Exports (Ceylon) (Pvt) Ltd., Ambewela Livestock Company Ltd., Ambewela Products (Pvt) Ltd., Lanka Dairies (Pvt) Ltd., Periceyl (Pvt) Ltd., Texpro Industries Ltd., Ceylon Garden Coir (Pvt) Ltd. He is also the Chairman/ Managing Director/ Director of several other successful and reputable companies. He is a former Director of Hatton National Bank PLC, the largest listed bank in Sri Lanka. Mr. Jayawardena was the former Chairman of Ceylon Petroleum Corporation and Sri Lankan Airlines. Mr. Jayawardena is presently the Honorary Consul for Denmark and on 9th February 2010, was knighted by Her Majesty the Queen of Denmark with the prestigious honour of “Knight Cross of Dannebrog”. He has also been awarded in November 2005, the title, “Deshamanya” in recognition of his services to the Motherland. Mr. Jayawardena has been Chairman of Aitken Spence PLC since 25th April 2003.

Mr. J.M.S. BritoMr. J.M.S. Brito
Mr. Rajan Brito joined the Board of Aitken Spence PLC, in April 2000. Together with his multi-disciplined knowledge from being a Bachelor of Law and a Chartered Accountant, he brought with him a wealth of 35 years of international experience working with several International organizations. He was then appointed as the Deputy Chairman and Managing Director of Aitken Spence PLC in 2002 and presently continues in these roles. Mr. Brito is an acclaimed senior professional in both private and public sector industries of Sri Lanka. He is currently a Director of Sri Lankan Airlines, a former Chairman of DFCC Bank, Employers’ Federation of Ceylon and Sri Lankan Airlines and has also served on the Board of the Sri Lanka Insurance Corporation. He holds a LLB degree from University of London, MBA degree from London City Business School and is a Fellow of the Institutes of Chartered Accountants of both Sri Lanka and England & Wales.

Ms. D. S. T. JayawardenaMs. D.S.T. Jayawardena
Ms. Stasshani Jayawardena joined the Aitken Spence Group in January 2010 as a Management trainee. After gaining experience in several of its key strategic business units and group companies she was appointed to the Board of Aitken Spence PLC, in December 2013 and to the Board of Aitken Spence Hotel Holdings PLC, in July 2014. She was then appointed as Chairperson of Aitken Spence Hotel Managements (Private) Limited in January 2016 and is overall responsible for the tourism sector of the Group that includes hotels, destination management and overseas travel. A graduate of St. James’ & Lucie Clayton College and Keele University in the United Kingdom, Ms. Jayawardena was the youngest intern to work under US Senator Hilary Rodham Clinton and the Former US President Bill Clinton in 2003. She is the Sri Lankan Ambassador of the EY NextGen Club. She is the Chairperson of Splendor Media, a leading advertising and communication company. She is also a Director at Stassen Exports (Pvt) Ltd., Milford Exports (Ceylon) (Pvt) Ltd., Stassen Natural Foods (Pvt) Ltd., Ceylon Garden Coir (Pvt) Ltd., Milford Developers (Pvt) Ltd., Stassen Foods (Pvt) Ltd., C D B Exports (Pvt) Ltd., EcoCorp Asia (Pvt) Ltd. At present Ms. Jayawardena leads a team of international professionals in strengthening the service foundations and formulating a strategic road map for the tourism sector of the group.

Mr. C.M.S. JayawickramaMr. C.M.S. Jayawickrama
Mr. Jayawickrama has been with the Company for almost 27 years and at present, he is the Joint Managing Director of Aitken Spence Hotel Managements (Pvt) Ltd. He is responsible for managing all Group Hotels in overseas markets. Mr. Jayawickrama serves on the Boards of most hotel companies in the Group including that of Aitken Spence Hotel Holdings PLC. A Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants UK, he has substantial experience in senior management positions in the Group’s hotel sector with exposure in the tourism industry in Sri Lanka and overseas. Mr. Jayawickrama is a past Vice President of the Tourist Hotels Association of Sri Lanka (THASL).

Mr. R.N. AsirwathamMr. R.N. Asirwatham
Mr. Asirwatham was appointed to the Board of Aitken Spence PLC, in September 2009. At present, he is the Chairman of the Audit committee, Related Party Transactions Review committee, a member of the Remuneration committee and the Nomination committee. He was the Senior Partner and Country Head of KPMG from 2001 to 2008. Further, he was the Chairman of the Steering Committee for the Sustainable Tourism Project funded by the World Bank for the Ministry of Tourism and was also a member of the Presidential Commission on Taxation, appointed by His Excellency the President of Sri Lanka. Mr. Asirwatham is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka. He is also a Board member of the Post Graduate Institute of Medicine and a member of the council of the University of Colombo. He also serves on the Boards of Dilmah Tea Services PLC, Royal Ceramics PLC, CIC Holdings PLC, Mercantile Merchant Bank, Dankotuwa Porcelain PLC, Colombo City Holdings PLC, Browns Beach Hotels PLC, and several other private companies.

Mr. N. J. De Silva Deva AdityaMr. N. J. De Silva Deva Aditya

Mr. Niranjan Deva Aditya, born in Sri Lanka, was educated in England with a Degree in Aero Engineering and a Post Graduate Research Fellowship in Economics. He has had an illustrious career as one of the most recognised and long serving politicians in the U.K. with over 35 years in public service. Among his many inspirational and pivotal achievements are; being the first Asian to be elected as a Conservative Member of the British Parliament, first Asian MP to serve in the British Government, the first Asian to be appointed as Her Majesty’s Deputy Lord Lieutenant for Greater London, and the first Asian born MP to be elected to the European Parliament. As a recognition of his proficiency, he was nominated as a candidate for Secretary General to the UN in 2006 and has been honoured for his public and international services by the UK, the Vatican, Sri Lanka, India and China. Mr. Deva Aditya joined Aitken Spence PLC in 2006 as a Non-Executive Independent Director and holds the post to date. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society for Arts, Manufacture and Commerce (Est. 1765).

Mr. C.H. GomezMr. C.H. Gomez
Mr. Charles Gomez is a former Banker with over 30 years experience in the finance industry. He has worked for major financial institutions including Barclays Bank PLC, Lloyds TSB Bank PLC, and SG Hambros. He brings to the Company a wealth of experience in regard to international financial markets, financial services regulations, compliance and controls, and it was through his intervention that major investors were brought into Aitken Spence PLC and to other business sectors in Sri Lanka. Mr. Gomez is a Director as well as a part owner of regulated financial services companies based in Gibraltar. He also serves on the Boards of foreign companies which have investments world-wide. Mr. Gomez was appointed to the Board of Aitken Spence PLC, in 2002 and to the Board of Aitken Spence Hotel Holdings PLC, in 2010. His role in the Company is that of an Independent Non-Executive Director. He also serves in the Audit Committee and the Related Party Transactions Review Committee.